Artistic License

Some old Tour Stories… Artistic license

From Doug McMillan: “I used to do this thing called the ‘Art Exchange.’ These hotels in Louisiana and Mississippi have really ‘precious’ prints on the walls, really dated and cheesy pictures. So I would take the prints out and put them above my bunk in the bus. I had this one of a bayou scene that was just unbelievable, it was so bad. In the frame, I would substitute my own little collage and hope they wouldn’t notice — an American Express card application, a washcloth, the soap wrapper. Some of them were pretty good. I wish I could’ve gotten feedback on what they thought.

“Anyway, we came back from that tour and [our manager] looked at me funny and said, ‘We got some strange bills here; what were you doing?’ So I had to quit.”

Leave a Reply

